CFP Adopts 5+7 Format: Reducing Spots for Conference Champions 

By: Nitin Singh

The College Football Playoff (CFP) has transitioned to a 5+7 format, featuring five conference champions and seven at-large selections. 

New Playoff Format

With the dissolution of the Pac-12 conference, the number of automatic spots for conference champions decreased from six to five. 

Reduced Conference Champion Spots:

The remaining seven at-large bids will be determined by the CFP selection committee's rankings, allowing for greater flexibility and inclusivity. 

Flexibility in At-Large Selections

The adjustment ensures representation from a variety of conferences, with at least one team from outside the traditional power conferences guaranteed a spot in the 12-team playoff field. 

Diverse Representation

The selection committee's rankings will determine both the conference champions and the at-large selections, emphasizing merit and performance on the field. 

Committee Rankings

Mark Keenum, president of Mississippi State University and chair of the CFP Board of Managers, has expressed confidence in the revised format, citing its alignment with the evolving landscape of college football. 

Chair's Endorsement

The upcoming season marks the debut of the 12-team playoff format, ushering in a new era of expanded postseason competition and heightened excitement among stakeholders. 

Inaugural Implementation