The inductees into the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame have been revealed by the state's commission on the status of women.

Also, the 2022 recipients of the Cristine Wilson Medal for Equality and Justice revealed by the states commission.

Elizabeth Cowles of Des Moines, Laurie Schipper of Des Moines, Mary Elaine Richards of Ames, and Mary Swander of Kalona are among the newest batch of Hall of Fame recipients.

Ako Abdul-Samad, a Des Moines resident, has been named the 2022 recipient of the Cristine Wilson Medal for Equality and Justice.

Abdul-Samad is a social justice activist and a stalwart member of the Iowa House of Representatives.

On August 27, at 9:30 in the morning, there will be an induction ceremony at the Des Moines Playhouse.

The public is welcome to attend the ceremony and the reception that follows for no charge.

Elizabeth Cowell was a British announcer and broadcaster.

The Iowa Coalition Against Domestic Violence is led by Laurie Schipper as executive director.

To Read Other Articles Click Below